Institute of Population Research
China Center for Population Health and Development
Institute of Ageing Studies, Peking University
  Research Reports

 

Direction
IPRPKU is the first high level academic institution in the country conducting teaching and research on population economics. It was also the earliest one that compiled and published its teaching materials on population economics and in 1996 published the book entitled Demography in Market Economy. In 2001, the Institute began to accept students studying the Master's degree specializing in population, resources, and environmental economics and in 2003 the PhD degree in the same field.
Population ageing study is another major emphasis in the Institute. As early as 1988. the Institute held the first International Seminar on Family and Population Ageing in the country. In 2003, the Institute of Ageing Studies, Peking University was established and the Office of Teaching and Research Committee of the China National Committee on Ageing was located at IPRPKU. In 2003, the Institute began to accept students specializing in ageing studies.
In 1991, IPRPKU was named the WHO Collaborating Center on Reproductive Health and Population Science and population health became an area of specialization for students pursuing the PhD degree. Peking University is the only university in the country that has population health as a specialty in its teaching and research program.
In the PhD program, the students can specialize their studies in demography, population health, population and resources, environment and economy, population ageing and development. For the Master's program, the specialization includes population studies, population health, population and political economy, population and resources, environment and economy and population ageing.

Courses
The courses offered in the study program include: population economics, demography of sociology, demographic analysis methods and application, social sciences study of reproductive health, social science research methods, the use of computer in population science, business demography, demography of regional management, general demography, classical demographic literature, population health and health economics, demography of geography, population, resource, environment and economics, population and sustainable development, the study of ageing, ageing economics, health and nursing of the elderly, sociology of the elderly, ageing policy and management, general ageing studies, etc. More than 70 per cent of the main courses are taught using the English language.


Research Reports
Since 1999, 429 research reports and papers have been published, 318 were in the major national journals. Publications also include 50 English papers, 17 Chinese books and reports, 2 English reports and 2 translated reports.
IPRPKU worked actively in social services, prepared consulting reports for national and provincial government agencies and participated in the drafting and revisions of government plans, policies, and legislations. Since 1999, IPRPKU has prepared more than 40 such reports.

 

Awards Received
Since 1999, IPRPKU has received 20 national and provincial awarded and 6 Peking University Humanity and Science Studies awards, including for examples Prof. Zhang Chunyuan's China Population Award and Prof. Zheng Xiaoying's National Post-Doctoral Fellow Award, Excellent Youth Foundation Award, National Population and Family Planning Award, etc.
In 2002 the Third China Population Scientific Research Award, IPRPKU received 3 awards of the first level, 5 of the second level, 3 of the third level and one honorable award.
Students of the Institute also participated in various kinds of scientific researches, many independently and some had supports from outside of school. Since the establishment of the Peking University Dissertation in Excellence Program, 4 of the 13 PhD dissertations, or about one in three have received this award.

 

 

Copyright 2000-2005 Institute of Population Research

北京大学人口研究所
北京大学中国人口
康与发展研究中心
北京大学老年学研究所
  教研成果
教学方向
  北京大学人口研究所是国内高校人口所当中最先开始人口经济学的教学与科研单位,在国内最早出版了《人口经济学》教材,1996年又在国内率先出版了《市场人口学》,2001年起招收人口、资源与环境经济学方向硕士研究生,并在2003年开始招收该方向的博士研究生。
  老龄研究是人口所的另一个学科重点,早在1988年人口所就主持召开了国内首次"家庭与老年人口问题国际研讨会",在老年人口问题研究方面具有重要影响,2003年成立北京大学老年学研究所,并成为中国老年学会老年学教学和研究专业委员会办公室所在地,2004年开始招收老年学研究生。

教学课程
  人口所坚持70%以上的主干基础课英语教学。开设的研究生课程主要有:人口经济学,人口社会学,人口分析方法与应用,生殖健康的社会科学研究,社会科学研究方法,计算机在人口科学中的应用,工商人口学,区域管理人口学,人口学概论,人口学著作精读,人口健康与卫生经济学、人口科学系列讲座,人口地理学,人口、资源与环境经济学、人口与可持续发展、老龄学概论、老龄经济学、老龄健康与护理、老年社会学、老龄政策与管理、老龄研究前沿等课程。


科研成果
  1999年以来初步统计公开发表成果429篇(部),其中国内核心期刊上发表318篇,英文文章50篇,中文著作17部,译著2部,英文著作2部。
  人口所积极参与社会服务,为国家和省部级相关职能部门递交政策咨询报告,参与政府重大决策文件的起草、修改和咨询工作。1999年以来先后为国家和有关部委以及国际机构递交重要咨询报告40多份。


科研奖励
  1999年以来,人口所共获得省部级以上奖项20项,获得北京大学文科科学研究奖项6项。每个教员都曾经获得过省部级以上科研奖励。其中包括张纯元教授获得中华人口奖,郑晓瑛教授获得全国博士后奖、杰出青年基金、全国人口和计划生育先进个人等。
  在2002年第三届中国人口科学优秀科研成果评奖中,人口所获得一等奖3项,二等奖5项,三等奖3项,优秀奖1项。
  学生积极参与科研活动,已经有相当多的研究生独立主持学术研究项目,一些研究获得国内外具有影响的学术奖励和资助。自设立北京大学优秀博士论文奖以来,在13名博士中有4人获得优秀博士论文奖,差不多三个博士中就有一个获奖。

 

Copyright 2000-2005 北京大学人口研究所